Glide Underground

Time to offline your PS3?

Articles / Personal Stuff/Random News
Date: Apr 22, 2010 - 12:32 PM
After bricking a load of PS3's with a faulty firmware set a while back, Sony's pulled another dastardly trick - hidden in the new firmware's "click ok" updated terms of use is a provision letting them force further updates without your permission.

Time to yank the network cord out or deactivate your PS3's wireless connection?

What particularly caught our beady eye is the sentence "Some services may be provided automatically without notice when you are online" which basically means that Sony can do whatever the hell it wants to do to the content of your PS3 without notifying you or asking your permission.

At this juncture it's important to point out that we have no way of checking if this clause was included in previous version of the EULA. Our extensive online searches have failed to come up with the text of anything before version 1.3, the current version being 1.4. But that's hardly the point.

The point is that Sony forces users to sign an agreement which allows you to use a piece of hardware which you have paid for, but allows Sony to make any changes they see fit to the way the console operates without notification or permission.
Ouch. Chances are, my PS3 gets the network cord pulled as of tonight.



This article is from Glide Underground
http://www.glideunderground.com/

The URL for this story is:
http://www.glideunderground.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=News&file=article&sid=3908